From the Mrs.

Well, it’s official…I’m a Mrs. instead of a Ms.

It was absolutely beautiful and perfect, everything I hoped for.  The weather was gorgeous, everyone helped pull each detail together, my family didn’t get too drunk, and the DJ dutifully stayed away from country music.  Truly, I could not have asked for anything better.

When the music I chose to walk in to, Somewhere Over the Rainbow, started playing and I realized that it was all really happening, the tears started flowing.  I cried the whole way down to Mike.  I saw many of my family members crying too and that was touching.  Mike told me it would be okay and I said “I know, that’s why I’m crying!”.  Standing there, of my own free will, committing to my love just made me so happy.   The look on his face told me everything I’d ever need to know. 

The actual ceremony took probably less than twenty minutes; we like to keep things short and sweet!  He loved my vows and I was incredibly touched by his, especially when he spoke to the children.  I don’t know if they understood the significance of that, but I hope they will someday.

What a magical day!  As “hippy-dippy” as it sounds, the energy was what really brought it.  Every single person there had a connection to one or both of us, an investment (of sorts) in our mutual happiness, and that feeling was palpable.  You could almost see the love.  Now that’s my kind of event!

For those of you who have been waiting with bated breath, here are the first few photos that the talented photographers have shared.  There will be many, many more but I wanted to give you a sneak peek.  Enjoy!

Getting ready to walk out

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From the Mrs.

  1. Mary Alice says:

    It was a magical wedding. I think everyone there felt it. You looked SO incredibly happy and beautiful. Your tears were so joyful and real. You and Mike made your plans, you made your ceremony the way you wanted it to be and it felt perfect. I couldn’t imagine anything more lovely. And, as my husband said more than once ” Wow! I knew Summer was a pretty woman but today I realized she’s really beautiful!”

  2. Mary Alice says:

    One more thing: I had to poke myself with my fingernail to keep from crying when you and the kids came ‘down the aisle’. You four looked so adorable and you walked to my favorite singer (Iz). It was wonderful.

  3. Shawna says:

    Oh, Summer! How wonderful! I knew pictures of you could never be bad, but these are beautiful beyond words!

  4. Hope Nilges says:

    I told you yesterday but I’ll tell you again- that was one (maybe THE) most beautiful weddings I’ve ever been to! It was just so… you. I love how personal everything was and the words that keep coming to mind as I’m looking at pics are ‘casual elegance’. It was a beautiful day and I’m so glad I got to be part of it!

    (Oh, and P.S. I’m glad you finally posted pics of that surprise because I have some cute ‘bump’ pics I’ve been waiting to post.) 😉

  5. Emilia says:

    Oh Summer, the pictures I’ve seen so far are just incredible! Congratulations on your marriage and the precious new life in your family.

  6. Lori Doty says:

    Now I’m kicking myself for missing the ceremony. I hope to see all these photos in sequence so I can get a good idea of what it was all like.

Leave a Reply

