Group Effort

One of the most important elements, for me, of this wedding is that almost everyone involved is a close friend, family member or both.  I felt that it would make our event more special if we kept it “close to home”. 

As I mentioned in my previous post, Vows, we didn’t hire a minister.  Instead, we asked one of our friends to read some various items I found. 

My dad is making the signs to direct people for parking, etc. as well as setting up the ceremony area.

All of the female wedding party have had a hand in making various elements for both the reception and ceremony, as you can see in the picture below.  We got together a couple of times to discuss decorations and then to make them.  This last work day was a bit overwhelming (lots of children when we get together!), but we still got a lot accomplished.  I have been incredibly grateful to these ladies for their advice, camaraderie and general excitement for my big day.  

The lady doing my hair and makeup for the event was a dance classmate for years.  Sitting in her chair is like having tea with an old friend. 🙂

My cake-maker is my dear friend who unfortunately has moved a few hours away, but is still making the time (and trip) to make us a delicious gluten-free cake.  She is famous in our circles for her Mother Blessing cakes depicting a birthing woman, so a simple wedding cake is easy as cake for her.

The photographers are two ladies whom I love tremendously, not to mention some of the most talented photographers I’ve seen!  You can read more about them here or see their joint photo blog here (where you will see a ton of pictures featuring my youngest son).  I am so excited to see what they come up with, I just know all my pictures will be beautiful!

Truly, the only people involved *not* near and dear to our hearts are the bartender (an Elks Lodge person) and the DJ.

As the time draws near for this special day to come and go, I reflect on all the people who have contributed and celebrated with me.  I am so thankful for the wonderful people in my life who love me, and us, so much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Group Effort

  1. Shawna says:

    Summer you are my idol! I love your wedding plan and the way you’ve brought it together. It is exactly the kind of wedding I wanted, but didn’t quite have the guts to have! You rock!

Leave a Reply

