Finally here!

It’s hard to believe I’m getting married….again.

Yep.  For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been married before.  I don’t usually talk about it because, obviously, it ended.  I was too young, too scared, and too pregnant to realize what a mistake I was making.  When I did finally realize none of us were happy, I stayed in it longer than I should have because I didn’t want to be like my mom (that’s a whole other blog), married almost as much as Elizabeth Taylor.  The one bright spot in all of it was my two children, L and B.  I got a pretty good deal when I got them, and I can be thankful for that. 

I know that we make our own happiness, no one can make it for us, blah, blah, blah.  However, sharing your life with someone who gets you, who wants to be your partner as opposed to just some bloke you live with, DOES make a difference.  I feel incredibly lucky and blessed to have Mike as the father of my children, my friend, my lover, and my soon-to-be husband….and he feels the same way.  Yay me! 

I remember asking my aunt once what the secret to her long-time marriage was.  “Simple,” she replied, “He’s my best friend.”  I think on those words and think to myself, I finally got it right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

